Part 3…

My walks are usually calm and relaxing.

But that day, it felt different.

That day, the lack of company was overwhelming.

I just didn’t want to be alone.

And as luck would have it.. your voice broke my thoughts.

You call my name.

I looked over to you, sitting on your bike in the middle of the road.

“How about today, you give me the time of day?” You winked at me and smiled.

I smiled back.

“You’re right. Let’s do something.”

Your smile dropped as the shock hits you at what I just said. I almost laugh, but wanted you to know I was deadly serious. I held your look.

You almost fell off your bike.

“Yes! That would be great! Let’s go.. let’s go feed the ducks!”

You stuttered. Awkwardly. Like a little child. Clearly shocked at my outburst.

I was a little taken aback by your suggestion.

Feed the ducks?

I’m not three.

“Sure.. let’s go feed the ducks.”

Part of me believed you were joking. The other part thought it was cute how naive you were.

Either way – I was going to go with you. To feed the ducks. 

Leave a Reply

